jump to navigation

How not to measure temperature, part 77: Surveying a weather station by watching JEOPARDY! November 27, 2008

Posted by honestclimate in Temperature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

How not to measure temperature, part 77: Surveying a weather station by watching JEOPARDY!

From Watts Up With That?, November 27, 2008

jeopardy_logo

Yes, you read the title correctly.

Sometimes I feel like a strange attractor for weather station chaos. Here I am at home tonight minding my own business, in my home office and I have the TV on. JEOPARDY comes on. Alex Trebek announces the categories…and I pay little attention until the last one is announced and he says “National Weather Service”. I practically got whiplash turning to look at the TV.  In 25 years of watching this TV program, that is a category I never expected to see.

Then to explain the category, up pops one of the “clue crew” people standing in front of the NWS office in Upton, New York, in the parking lot.

I didn’t hear a single word she said, because my eyes were transfixed on what was right behind her: a Stevenson Screen and MMTS just a couple of feet from the parking lot with the brick walls of the NWS office right behind it.

Read the rest of the article, click below link

http://wattsupwiththat.com/2008/11/26/surveying-a-weather-station-by-watching-jeopardy

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

